Construction complete at new Rutherford Ambulance Station

November, 2019

This month marked the completion of construction on the new NSW Ambulance station at Rutherford.

This is a significant milestone in the NSW Government’s commitment to build a new ambulance station at Rutherford as part of the $122 million Rural Ambulance Infrastructure Reconfiguration (RAIR) program.

The NSW Government is investing in purpose-built and modern NSW Ambulance stations to support the clinical capability of our highly trained paramedics.

The new purpose built station on Aberglassyn Road will enable local NSW Ambulance paramedics to better meet the current and future demand for mobile emergency medical care in Rutherford and surrounds.

The new station has been designed with input from paramedics and will ensure local paramedics have fit-for-purpose infrastructure to better meet the emergency medical care needs of the local community.

The Rutherford station includes:
  • Internal parking for up to seven emergency ambulance vehicles
  • Administration and office areas
  • Staff amenities
  • Logistics and storage areas
  • Internal wash bay
  • Staff parking, and
  • An education facility and zone management office area
Next steps include internal fit out and operational commissioning by NSW Ambulance, ahead of the station going live in the coming months.

To date, 24 upgraded, rebuilt or new regional and rural ambulance stations have been announced under the RAIR program, including completed stations at Wagga Wagga, Coolamon, Ardlethan, Harden, Molong, Griffith, Kiama, Berry, Bay and Basin, Toukley, Wauchope, Hamlyn Terrace, Bathurst, Pottsville and Yass.

This represents the biggest regional and rural transformation of NSW Ambulance infrastructure in the organisation’s history.